10 Books to Read if You Love The Princess Bride

What do you love most about The Princess Bride? Is it the swashbuckling adventures? The wit and sarcasm? The tales of true love? No matter what it is that keeps you coming back to watching the movie or reading the book, there’s no denying that this story holds a special place in the hearts of children and adults of all ages.

And if you are craving more tales of evil pirates or stories of mythical creatures, there are a whole slew of other books you could read that have all the things you love about The Princess Bride (except ROUS’s, of course!).

Filled with romance, travel, and journeys to lands unknown, these 10 books are sure to satisfy whatever craving you have to jump back into a story that helps you escape reality and indulge in the comfort of your own imagination.

books-to-read-princess-bride

10 Books to Read if You Love The Princess Bride

The Princess Bride, William Goldman
Granted, the book is slightly different from the film, but chances are if you love the movie, you’re gonna love the book…at least give it a try for Prince Humperdinck alone!

As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride, Cary Elwes
Well, this is just a no-brainer. Written by Cary Elwes (Westley), As You Wish explores the making and production of The Princess Bride film, complete with behind-the-scene stories and memories from the entire cast.

Stardust, Neil Gaiman
Take a journey into a magical land as a young boy pursues his one true love. Sound familiar? This charming story features the adventure and humor that make The Princess Bride so wonderful, as well as a little romance!

The Last Unicorn, Peter S. Beagle
This fantastical quest of concealed identity is the perfect book to cozy up with if you love The Princess Bride. The Last Unicorn was also made into a wonderfully cheesy movie if you’d rather indulge in the story that way.

The Thousand Autumns, Jacob de Zoet
The strength of true love, the power of faith, the thrill of the adventure…it’s all here in The Thousand Autumns by Jacob de Zoet.

Candide, Voltaire
Pirates? Check. Exciting adventures? Check. Love and revenge? Check and check. Candide is a breathless tour of far off lands and the quest for true love.

Ivanhoe, Sir Walter Scott
Ivanhoe may not have the wit and sarcasm of The Princess Bride, but it sure packs in the romance.

Guenevere: Queen of the Summer Country, Rosalind Miles
Guenevere is a romantic and heart-wrenching narrative, complete with all the pageantry, politics, war, lust, love, and conflict the Brits so gallantly require in their legends. A fairy tale likened to Buttercup’s adventures, Guenevere is sure to appease lovers of the King Arthur legends and romantic fairy tales.

Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen
If you love Buttercup’s wit and sass, chances are you’re gonna fall in love with Elizabeth Bennett from Pride and Prejudice. A story about romance, love, and a fun-loving sarcastic leading lady, Pride and Prejudice is one swashbuckling pirate away from The Princess Bride.

The Book of Lost Things, John Connolly
A fantastic book filled with epic adventures, lots of magical heroes and monsters, and travels in far off lands, The Book of Lost Things is maybe one of my favorite novels of all time. While it lacks the romance of The Princess Bride, it makes up for it in amazing characters and harrowing journeys.

 

Looking for a new book to read? Check in every Friday for a “Bee Happy” post, where I share reviews of books I’ve read or other book-themed lists.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under book lists

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s